Mazda European MX-5 Cup Series Competition

Mazda Motor Europe, in conjunction with, has announced a virtual online racing competition, the Mazda European MX-5 Cup, with a prize of a lifetime – the chance to race with a full 2016 race-specification MX-5 in the real  Mazda Global MX-5 Cup Final at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

This (Season 2) 12 week online racing series, starting March 15, invites iRacers from Mazda Motor Europe selected European countries to race the all-new virtual Mazda Global MX-5 Cup car on 12 different circuits.

The series culminates with the top 20 drivers being invited to participate in a Final Championship European MX-5 Cup Race to be broadcast live on Three drivers will emerge as finalists who will then be invited to participate in the European MX-5 Final in Barcelona, Spain to race on a real track. FINALS Race will be Thursday June 9 at 20:30GMT on 

The top three iRacers will have training at the Parc Motor Circuit with real world track time, including skills and technique training, as well as simulation racing. These iRacers will be assessed by Mazda Motor Europe on their combined performances.  The European MX-5 Cup Champion chosen by Mazda will have the opportunity to qualify for the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity; a starting spot in the Mazda Global MX-5 Cup Final at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Click HERE for official rules

Any iRacing member that is registered in an approved country from MAZDA can race in the series but will only qualify for the prize if they meet the minimum requirements iRacers must be:

At least 18 years old on July 1st 2016

Have a valid driver license and able to drive a standard transmission

Eligible countries include: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Season Race Schedule includes:

  • Week 1: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (full course)
  • Week 2: Summit Point Raceway (Jefferson circuit)
  • Week 3: Okayama International Circuit (short course)
  • Week 4: Daytona International Speedway (road course)
  • Week 5: Phoenix International Raceway (road course)
  • Week 6: Summit Point Raceway (short course)
  • Week 7: Lime Rock Park (full course)
  • Week 8: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (full course)
  • Week 9: Okayama International Circuit (full course)
  • Week 10: Summit Point Raceway (full course)
  • Week 11: Charlotte Motor Speedway (road course)
  • Week 12: Lime Rock Park (chicane course)

The Final Top 20:

Kamil Franczak Poland
Aday Coba Lopez Spain
Giuseppe Curri Italy
Jeremy Bouteloup France
Pablo López Spain
Evan Maillard France
Jesus Sicilia Spain
Kristian Kwietniewski Spain
David Williams United Kingdom
Piotr Smialek Germany
Dawid Nowakowski Poland
Adria Perez Soler Spain
Dave Gelink Netherlands
Ruben Fanarraga Spain
Brice Michelon France
Morgan Banks United Kingdom
Norbert Leitner Hungary
András Király Netherlands
Krisztian Mikle United Kingdom
Tamas Buzas Hungary

Read Race Recap

iRacing and Mazda Motors Europe reserve the right to change competition, rules, and/or any other part of this promotion at any time.

Not a member of iRacing yet, click HERE to join!

Translate »