The field for the 2011 World Championship Series Road Racing (iWCSRR) is now set.  Twenty of the leading drivers in the 2010 iRacing Pro Series Road (iPSR) will join the top 30 finishers from the inaugural iWCSRR – including champion Greger Huttu – in vying for the most prestigious title in online road racing.

Luca Masier tops the list of newcomers to the world championship after besting Matthias Egger for the 2010 iPSR crown.  The Italian scored a perfect twelve wins in twelve starts in claiming the title, while his countryman collected four wins and 17 top five finishes en route to second place ahead of Club Scandinavia’s Jesse Nieminen.

“We’re really excited about the 2011 World Championship Series Road Racing competition,” says Tony Gardner, president of  “It’s the crown jewel of online road racing and I guarantee the world’s best sim racers will be gunning for Greger this year.  With the Williams-Toyota FW31, the new grand prix tracks we’ve added to the schedule and the twenty new drivers from the Pro Series, it’s going to be a great championship.

“Next week we’ll announce the line-up for the 2011 NASCAR Series World Championship, so iRacing’s 2011 world championships will be well and truly underway.”

It’s the crown jewel of online road racing . . .”

The top twenty iPSR finishers automatically qualify for the iWCSRR.  However, Petteri Kotovaara and Joel Guez – who finished twenty-first and twenty-second, respectively – will also be eligible to compete in the world championship given that fifth place finisher Bryan Heitkotter finished in the top thirty in last year’s iWCSRR and that David Sirois, who finished tenth in 2010 iWCSRR, has bowed-out of this year’s competition owing to time constraints.  Also of note is the fact that Richard Crozier battled his way back into the 2011 iWCSRR with a sixteenth place finish in the iPSR after finishing just out of the top thirty in the inaugural world championship points race.

The 2011 World Championship Series Road Racing kicks-off at Circuit Park Zandvoort with the Williams-Toyota FW31.

The 2011 iWCSRR consists of 18 events, run on alternate weekends over 36 weeks in the Williams-Toyota FW31.  The series is scheduled to kick-off at Circuit Park Zandvoort on February 26.

The complete list of 2011 iWCSRR drivers is as follows:

2010 iWCSRR
Greger Huttu, Richard Towler, Ilkka Haapala, Shawn Purdy, Darren Marsh, Dion Vergers, Ben Cornett, Bryan Heitkotter, Brad Davies, Matt Sentell, Ian Lake, Daniel Almeida, Matteo Calestani, Ray Alfalla, Mauro Bisceglie, John Prather, Luke McLean, Ryan Murray, Derek Wood, Marc Payne, Bastien Bartsch, Andrea Baldi, Dom Duhan, Alex Simunek, Gerd Hoefferer, Florian Godard, George Sandman, Milos Miljkovic and Dave Hoffman.

2010 iPSR:
Luca Masier, Matthias Egger, Jesse Nieminen, Klaus Kivekäs, Vincent Staal, Marcus Saari, Blake Townend, Alberto Baraldi, Wolfgang Woeger, Hugo Luis, Maximilian Vietmeier, Michael Hohenauer, Carlo Labati, Jeffrey Rietveld, Richard Crozier, Martin Macjon, David Williams, Joao Vaz, Aleksi Elomaa, Petteri Kotovaara and Joel Guez.

Share Button

No Comments

Masier V Huttu… This is going to make great viewing 🙂

Chris Hall
January 6th, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Niemenen is quite quick in the FW31 as well.

Ryan Terpstra
January 6th, 2011 at 10:11 pm

There’s at least 10 drivers in the field this year who I think are capable of getting within a few tenths of Greger (or whatever happens to be the benchmark pole time), this year. It’s gonna be awesome! 🙂

David Williams
January 8th, 2011 at 12:17 am

The IWCRR competition will get tougher every year. Really looking forward to seeing Masier and the new drivers. Also, which of the veterans can challenge Greger in the F1 car. Can’t see Greger winning every race this year…, but it’s tough to bet against him. Greger is a great ambassador for sim racing, but he’ll have some tough competition in his rear view mirror this year. Can’t wait for Zandvoort! 🙂

January 8th, 2011 at 1:27 am

In other sims we usually saw real racers names to gain interest from the people.
Here mostly of these real simracers made theires names has meanings by theire owns!

Thanks iRacing!

Luis Babboni
January 8th, 2011 at 2:46 am

Hmmmm, 30th place will be fun this year! 🙂

… 🙁


Ryan Murray
January 8th, 2011 at 3:20 am

This is ridicously talented group of racers. “Wonder Boy” Rietveld, Flying Finns, Masier, Luis, Williams and all of the iPSR stars are interesting enough by themself but when you add all of those legendary “old” iWCRR drivers this lineup is almost too good to be true.

Can’t wait for the first race. Spectating iWCRR is more interesting than any real world series for me, so thanks for all people who have made it possible.

Toni Aittomaa
January 8th, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Congrats all, and especialy to Joao Vaz, first Iberian driver in iDWCRR.

Javier Lorenzo
January 8th, 2011 at 3:43 pm

[…] Source: […]

2011 iRacing World Championship Road Racing Field Set › Fish Not Cattle
January 8th, 2011 at 8:04 pm

This series is going to look like such a joke with several dozen williams livery cars racing amongst a bunch of solid colored cars.

They should use the Dallara or something which can be painted.

January 8th, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Wow, Super-Goat you obviously haven’t taken a look at

Eric Signal
January 9th, 2011 at 2:15 pm

“…This series is going to look like such a joke with several dozen williams livery cars racing amongst a bunch of solid colored cars….”

Williams, please just let the guys can change the blue of the Williams for other colour keeping the sponsors like it is now. No more than this.
If not, seeing on the PSRtv those solid one colours make no more than become the Williams so ugly.

By the way…. I miss Hackman and Wooden in the iDWCRR…. may be there must exists two “wild Cards” as every tennis tournaments has.

Luis Babboni
January 9th, 2011 at 2:30 pm

[…] Source: […]

2011 iRacing World Championship Road Racing Field Set |
January 9th, 2011 at 2:51 pm

The line up looks great. However, iRacing should make the event like a true “real” race event and limit a team to 2 or maybe 3 drivers per team. It looks ridiculous currently to have 3 teams with something like 20+ drivers in the series! That will do nothing to benefit drivers in the long run AT ALL!

Reginald Dwight
January 10th, 2011 at 10:18 pm

A truly fantastic line-up, this will be awesome to watch!

Go Orion Race Team: Haapala, Purdy, Vergers, Egger and Vaz!!!

(By the way, I am sure Williams will make an exception for the DWC and allow the teams to paint the cars. As mentioned it would look horrible otherwise, and this would be really bad PR for Williams and their sponsors. I believe most teams also already have sponsorship contracts signed, so not allowing the teams to paint the cars would remove their only source of income.)

Roland Ehnström
January 11th, 2011 at 8:23 am

re painting cars – maybe Williams will relax their stance on this if asked by iracing – they have just lost an estimated $44m worth of sponsorship deals from RBS, Philips, McGregor and Air Asia. Why would they want these sponsors names on their cars in the sim now?

Jason Scully
January 11th, 2011 at 12:37 pm

[…] 20 primeiros sendo assim convidado para participar no topo das competições de SimRacing, o “iRacing Drivers World Championship for Road Racing (iDWCRR)“, competição reservada aos 50 melhores, e que foi ganha na época anterior pelo […]

SimRacing Portugal » Post Topic » Entrevista com João Vaz, português no topo do SimRacing
January 20th, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch