Byron Daley reversed what has been a streak of bad races for the #91 Chevrolet team in the Truck Series in a big way Thursday night by taking the victory in the JDR Graphics 125 at the New Smyrna Speedway. Daley, who came within a half straightaway of winning the JDR Graphics 100 at Iowa Speedway last week, passed Jordan Hightower on the outside on the final restart with five laps to go. Third place in the JDR Graphics 125 belonged to Kenneth OKeefe while Danny Hansen and Brandon Kettelle rumbled home to complete the top five.

Daley battles Hightower (20), O'Keefe and Hansen (32) at New Smyrna.

The race was a slugfest for the sim racers in the Truck Series as 16 yellow flag periods slowed the pace of the online race, which took only one hour and four minutes to complete. Daley led thrice for a grand total of 50 laps and never dipped below his fourth place starting spot in the race in becoming the tenth different winner in 13 races. Four leaders exchanged the lead five times amongst them. OKeefe, the winner at the Gale Force Suspension 55 at Watkins Glen, sat on the pole at the New Smyrna short track with a time of 18.074 seconds. Hightower started 28th on the grid and gained 26 spots to finish second in the race, good enough to net him the Hard Charger Award. Daley was the top Tim’s Corner Truck in the race and moved into third in the Tim’s Corner Challenge. Chad Coleman leads the Tim’s Corner Challenge by 14 points over Richard Beasley with just two races to go.

Thomas Hazard came into the race as the point leader and will leave with the top spot in the points, albeit with a very slim margin. Hazard was involved in an early wreck and limped home to a 15th place finish. Hansen and Kettelle closed to within one point of the leader Hazard with their top five finishes at New Smyrna. Dylan Duval closed to within three points of the leader and it looks to be a four horse race to the title with two races to go. Coleman will move to fifth when the official standings are released, 19 points removed from the top spot.

Click here for complete results . . .

The series takes a week off before continuing their championship chase at the Phoenix International Raceway for the JoeTheShow 120. With four drivers on the brink of their first Truck Series championship, Phoenix will be a crucial part in deciding who will come home on top of the series. The action gets underway at 9pm Eastern on the

About the Truck Series:

The Truck Series is one of iRacing’s premier independently hosted series. The Truck Series is in its third full season and is frequented by the top drivers in the sim community, including those from the NASCAR iRacing Series World Championship. Races throughout the 2011 season are conducted on Thursday nights with select races with live flag-to-flag coverage on ETV and

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch