iRacers will have not one but two chances to channel their inner AJ Allmendingers, Justin Wilsons, Billy Johnsons and Jack Roush, Jrs this weekend, with a doubleheaded kick-off to the 2012 World Tour of iRacing. That’s right, not one but two events – the Roar Before the 2.4 and the 2.4 Hours of Daytona – are coming your way Friday and Saturday at Daytona International Speedway.

The weekend begins with the 2012 iRacing.com Roar Before the 2.4, a mixed class GT event featuring the VW Jetta TDi, Mazda MX5 Cup and Pontiac Solstice. The green flag drops at 21:00 GMT (4 pm ET) on Friday, February 17 for a sixty minute race on the new Daytona Road Course in daylight conditions. The field will be divided into fields of 43 starters, with the three top finishers in each split receiving award certificates and coverage in inRacingNews.

Less than 24 hours later, the 2012 iRacing.com 2.4 Hours of Daytona gets underway on Saturday, February 18 at 17:00 GMT (12:00 noon ET) with the Riley MkXX Daytona Prototypes mixing-it up with the Ford Mustang FR500s. Although the race will also utilize the new Daytona Road Course, this time the competition will be held under the lights. As the title implies, the race distance is 2.4 hours (160 minutes) with fields again divided into 43 starters and the three top finishers in each split receiving award certificates and coverage in inRacingNews.

For those counting, that’s 3.6 hours of the world’s best mixed class sim racing, and it all gets underway on Friday. Don’t miss it

Share Button


No Comments

Comments are Closed

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch

Ad