sim racing

Some of the top professional race drivers from around the world will gather online to compete head-to-head in the fifth annual iRacing Pro Race of Champions on December 16.  Utilizing the world’s leading motorsports simulation game, the competitors will race digital versions of the GT3 class BMW Z4 for 20 laps on iRacing’s laser-scanned replica of the Watkins Glen “Cup” circuit.

The sim racing event will be broadcast on iRacingLive beginning at 8:30PM Eastern time, and iRacing will donate $2500 to the Justin Wilson Children’s Fund in the name of the winning driver.

More than two dozen drivers from the world’s top racing series have confirmed their entries, including Nick Tandy, winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans and Petit Le Mans in 2015, two time IMSA champion Alex Gurney, 24 Hours of Le Mans winner/factory Corvette Racing driver Tommy Milner, NASCAR Xfinity Series regular Timmy Hill and V8 Supercar standout Matt Halliday with NHRA Funny Car star Ron Capps making his fifth straight iPROC appearance.

In addition, former IndyCar driver turned team owner Sam Schmidt will make his first iPROC appearance.  Schmidt, who was paralyzed from the neck down in a racing accident, will use a modified Motion Pro II simulator designed by CXC Simulations and featuring infrared motion-sensing cameras and a breath-sensing mouthpiece that enable him to steer, accelerate and brake.

Click here for a preview of tonight’s race.

Drivers expected to attend:

Brad Keselowski / NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Timmy Hill / NASCAR Xfinity Series

Trevor Hopwood / IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge

Alex Gurney / Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series

Chris Dymond / Porsche Cup

Spencer Pumpelly / IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge

Tommy Kendall / SCCA Trans-Am

Nick Tandy / Porsche Factory Driver, 2015 24 Hrs of Le Mans Winner

Dominic Cicero / IMSA

Michael Self / NASCAR K&N

Benny Simonsen / Blancpain GT Series

Michael Lewis / IMSA

Ron Capps / NHRA

Joe Osborne / Blancpain GT Series

Matt Halliday / V8 SuperCars

Igor Sushko / GT3

Tommy Milner / Corvette Racing Team, 2015 24 Hrs of Le Mans Winner

Stefan Wilson / IndyCar

Richie Stanaway / GP2, Aston Martin WEC

Sam Schmidt / IndyCar(former)

Scott McLaughlin / V8 SuperCars

Bradley Philpot / VLN

Kyle Kaiser / Indy Lights

Justin Bell / TV Broadcaster, 24 Hrs of Le Mans Winner

Dale Lomas / VLN

Nicki Thiim / Porsche Supercup

Kelvin van der Linde / GT3

Jay Beasley / NASCAR K&N

Ben Waddell / SBRS

Richard Abra / Blancpain GT Series

Martin Plowman / FIA WEC, 2013 24 Hours of Le Mans Winner

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch