The crown jewel of short track sim racing returns to iRacing on Sunday, February 12th and a star studded field of drivers is set to duke it out for their spot in the 30 car starting field. The Fourth Annual Late Model Championships Presented by at New Smyrna Speedway has already drawn over 110 entries and, when all is said and done, one of them will stand tall as the winner and take away the lion’s share of the purse which hovers around the $400 mark. Live flag-to-flag coverage of the main event of the weekend, the Late Model 250 Presented by, can be watched live at 7:15pm Eastern on February 12th on

The list of entries boasts a Who’s Who of iRacing’s best drivers. The 2010 Late Model Champion Allen Lewis and Tim’s Corner 150 winner Justin Trombley headline the field while 2011 Late Model Championship winner Parker Hammons has yet to file his entry as of press time. Last year’s fifth place driver Trenton Moriarity, 2010 top five finishers Jeff Rogers and Marc Williams and the runner-up from the first Late Model Championships Justin Fuller will also look to crack the field. In the case of Fuller, this is his fourth Late Model Championships 250 attempt.

When it comes to short track veterans, the field boasts one of the best lineups from across the online racing service. Current iRacing Late Model Tour Champion Kevin Burris and Brandon Salvatore lead the contingent of hot shoe short track sim racers into battle with drivers such as John-Michael Shenette, Herb Engelhart, Jeff Conover, Daniel Williason, and Maxime Paquette are among the top short track talent set to attack the track on Sunday, February 12th.

Chad Coleman set the pace in an impromptu practice session for the Late Model 250.

In addition, a powerful lineup of NASCAR Series World Championship and Pro Series drivers will be trying to make it into one of the 30 race spots in the Late Model 250 Presented by Jon Adams, Chad Coleman, Byron Daley, Richie Davidowitz, Jordan Hightower, Tyler D Hudson, Joshua Laughton and Trombley have raced in iRacing’s top series full-time in the last year. They will be joined by two NASCAR Camping World Truck Series racers in Cale Gale and Parker Kligerman as they look to pocket the top prize at the virtual New Smyrna Speedway. NASCAR Nationwide Series 2011 Rookie of the Year Timmy Hill raced in last year’s event, finishing in 20th place.

“This event has a big race feel with so many huge names in the sim attempting to qualify for the event,” said Event Director Tim Terry. “With the amount of entries we have, there will be some strong competition that will not make the main event. In turn, there may be some surprises that make the field and surprise us. I can’t wait to see how this race turns out!”

The Lap Leaderboard Fund program is back for the 2012 season and already has boosted the purse for the race up to $375. A total of 138 laps are sponsored for the event, meaning the leader of those laps will receive $1 to their race ending purse. Hammons’ winning total from the 2011 event was $201. Lap Leaderboard sponsors include, Fast Track Sims, Exlander Designs Solutions, Rent a Racecar New England, Rustick Auto, Massingill Expert Services, C2C Racing Designs, Zach Hudson Motorsports, Tornado Gaming, Wide Open Racing, TCSR Designs,, Design JXL and with more expected to be added by race day. Derek Speare Designs has also come on board for the event to give a Sport Button Box to a random qualifier on Sunday. The winner of the Button Box will be announced on during the broadcast of the Late Model 250 Presented by

“This event has a big race feel . . .” – Tim Terry.

Tim’s Corner Motorsports and JDR Graphics along with the Web Racing Network are also media partners of the 4th Annual Late Model Championships Presented by Tim’s Corner Motorsports and their website put together the website for the event and will conduct the pre and post race press releases while JDR Graphics designed the logo for the event. The Web Racing Network is the official home of the broadcast for the Late Model 250 Presented by

The event kicks off Thursday night, February 9th with Open Qualifying for the event. Open Qualifying runs from February 9th to 11th with the top 80 moving onto Sunday’s racing action. Three heat races along with a “C” and “B” Feature will set the 30-car field for the Late Model 250 Presented by The Late Model 250 Presented by will go green at 7:15pm Eastern on the Web Racing Network.

For more information, check out!

About the Truck Series:

The Truck Series is one of iRacing’s premier independently hosted series. The Truck Series is in its third full season and is frequented by the top drivers in the sim community, including those from the NASCAR iRacing Series World Championship. Races throughout the 2011 season are conducted on Thursday nights with select races with live flag-to-flag coverage on ETV and

About Late Model Championships:

The Late Model Championships event was established in 2009 as a NASCAR Racing 2003 Season event. Matt Riley of Manchester, New Hampshire was the first champion while Allen Lewis of London, Kentucky took away the second annual race in 2010. In 2011, the Late Model Championships drew 70 entries for the one day qualifying event which saw Parker Hammons of Midland, North Carolina finish on top of the field. The 4th Annual edition of the short track staple rolls off on February 12th and is a presentation of

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch