After a successful debut race for the IndyCar iRacing Challenge last week at Watkins Glen International, the stakes just got much higher for week two.

The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama will welcome an expanded field of 29 entries to the virtual Barber Motorsports Park, with nearly every name in the real-world NTT IndyCar Series that didn’t run last weekend’s opener making their debut this week. That includes the series debut of five-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon with Chip Ganassi Racing, the return of Ed Carpenter to road course racing for the first time since 2013, and the long-awaited debut of Robert Wickens, who will utilize a custom made iRacing rig to return to his rightful place on the IndyCar grid.

If that wasn’t enough, this week’s race will mark the television debut for the series, as NBCSN takes over at 2:30PM ET/11:30AM PT with Leigh Diffey, Townsend Bell, and Paul Tracy on the call. TV viewers who missed last weekend’s race will get to see a new element play out for the first time, as a Lap 15 competition caution, followed by a single-file restart, will bunch the field.

The IndyCar iRacing Challenge opener from Watkins Glen saw Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam, one of the most experienced iRacers on the grid, dominate the event and take the win over fellow iRacing veterans Felix Rosenqvist and Will Power. All three are expected to run up front once again, with other veteran iRacers like Scott McLaughlin and Scott Speed also expected to contend for the victory. But the rest of the field is closing the gap quickly, with newcomers like Alexander Rossi and Graham Rahal logging countless hours on their simulators in both practice and independent race sessions to get up to speed.

In the real world, Barber has hosted IndyCar events for a decade, with Team Penske dominating the Alabama road course with wins in six of 10 races. Power, Simon Pagenaud, and defending IndyCar champion have each taken the checkered flag here, with Newgarden’s three wins in four years the high water mark. Zach Veach, Colton Herta, and Pato O’Ward have also each won at Barber in Indy Lights.

Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Entry List

The full entry list for today’s Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama is as follows:






1 Josef Newgarden Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet
2 Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Team Penske Chevrolet
4 Sebastien Bourdais Tresiba A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet
5 Pato O’Ward Arrow Electronics Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet
6 Robert Wickens Arrow Electronics Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet
7 Oliver Askew Arrow Electronics Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet
8 Marcus Ericsson Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
9 Scott Dixon PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
10 Felix Rosenqvist NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
11 Kyle Kaiser Juncos Racing Chevrolet
12 Will Power Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet
14 Tony Kanaan ABC Supply Co. A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet
15 Graham Rahal United Rentals Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
18 Santino Ferrucci SealMaster Dale Coyne Vasser Sullivan Honda
20 Conor Daly US Air Force Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
21 Ed Carpenter Sonax Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
22 Simon Pagenaud Menards Team Penske Chevrolet
24 Sage Karam Wix Filters Dreyer & Reinbold Chevrolet
26 Zach Veach Gainbridge Andretti Autosport Honda
27 Alexander Rossi NAPA/AutoNation Andretti Autosport Honda
28 Kyle Kirkwood DHL Andretti Autosport Honda
29 James Hinchcliffe Genesys Andretti Autosport Honda
41 Dalton Kellett K-Line Insulators A.J. Foyt Enterprises Chevrolet
48 Jimmie Johnson Ally Jimmie Johnson Racing Chevrolet
55 Alex Palou Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh Honda
59 Felipe Nasr Gallagher Carlin Chevrolet
60 Jack Harvey AutoNation Meyer Shank Racing Honda
88 Colton Herta Capstone Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport Honda
98 Scott Speed Surgere/Curb Andretti Herta Autosport Honda


Following the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, the IndyCar iRacing Challenge will return on April 11 to a track chosen by the drivers. For more information on iRacing and for special offers, visit

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch