New Jersey headed the leaderboard as six clubs booked their places in the iRacing 2013 World Cup finals. The US club was joined by four other North American clubs – Ohio, Carolina, Michigan and Midwest — as well as the European, Scandanavia clubs.

Participation for this final chance event was disappointing as smaller clubs often perceive they have little chance competing with “the big boys.” World Champions Finland, one of the smaller clubs, prove this to be wrong and hopefully some of the other “minnows’ will take inspiration and pull- off some giant killing of their own.

The six last chance clubs joined Brasil, UK&IRL, Australia/NZ, Texas, Florida, Finland, Canada, Northwest, Italia, Asia, DE-AT-CH, West USA, Iberia, Virginias, New York, France, CEE and California in the 24 club finals starting this weekend.

The new format for the World Cup event run by players led by Mike Ouellette based on the tournament system, has revitalised the event and further tweaks to the successful formula are hoped to make the event an even more successful affair this year.

The biggest evolution this year is an attempt to reward depth as well as speed. While the club winning the tournament will need speed, it won’t win on outright speed alone as the finals will, for the first time, utilise two finals.

The top final will see the top six points-scoring drivers from the tournament stage, which runs this weekend, representing the top five clubs in a 30 car race. The next six sim-racers (all from Groups 2 and 3) will then represent the same five clubs in a minor race, the points for which are reduced compared to the main final but which could well decide the outright result of the World Cup.

But before that the 24 clubs must be whittled down to just five clubs via the tournament stage: six online races (three road and three oval) in Ford GTs and Gen6s at Interlagos and Pocono, respectively.  The top five scoring clubs will then proceed to the finals but, in order to give everyone a chance at competing for some form of reward, there are sub-prizes on offer.

While not as prestigious as the overall prize of iRacing Club World Champion, other titles are on offer to which any driver and most clubs can aspire.  An obvious example is that many US clubs struggle to compete on the road, but are competitive on the ovals; therefore we might see an Oval Champion Club who, due to a weak road side, don’t have a chance at competing overall.

Oval Champions
(Most oval points in Tournament)
Road Champions
(Most road points in Tournament)
Group 1 Champions
(top five scores from Group 1 in Tournament)
Group 2 Champions
(top five scores from Group 2 in Tournament)
Group 3 Champions
(top five scores from Group 3 in Tournament)
International Region Champions
(most points by an International club during the Tournament)
European Region Champions
(most points by a European club during the Tournament)
United States Region Champions
(most points by an American club during the Tournament)

And the following individual honours:

Iron Man Award
(any driver who competes in all six races during the Tournament)
Club Most Valuable Driver
(driver from each club who contributes the most points)
Tournament MVD
(driver who contributes the most points overall)
Captain of the Year

The excitement kicks-off on January 11th with the Tournament stage.  iRacers can check the forum for additional details on the World Cup of iRacing,

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch