Some of the top professional drivers from the around the motorsports world will compete online in the 6th Annual iRacing Pro Race of Champions on Wednesday, December 14.   The event will see the pros race their digital Dallara DW12 IndyCars for 50 laps on iRacing’s laser scanned version of Phoenix International Raceway beginning at 9 p.m. eastern time.  The race will be broadcast on iRacingLive, with iRacing pledging to donate $2,500 to Justin Wilson Children’s Fund in the name of the race winner. CXC Simulations, who will be hosting several competing drivers at their California based headquarters, will be contributing an additional $1,500 to the Wilson charity fund.

Among the drivers expected to compete in the race are former Formula One/IndyCar drivers Rubens Barrichello and Stefan Johansson, IndyCar champion Will Power, IMSA champion Alex Gurney, 24 Hours of Le Mans winners Nick Tandy and Gustavo Menezes, and NHRA Funny Car champion Ron Capps.  Other noteworthy competitors include X-Game Rallycross gold medalist Mitchell DeJong, IndyCar’s Stefan Wilson, NASCAR’s Timmy Hill and iPROC’s first father/son duo: triple World Touring Car champion Andy Priaulx and his son Sebastian, winner of the 2016 Ginetta Winter Series.  In addition, IndyCar team owner Sam Schmidt will race using a CXC simulator equipped with semi-autonomous technology and looks to improve upon his 16th place finish in last year’s race.

“The iRacing Pro Race of Champions is a fun and unique event,” says Tony Gardner, president of  “Where else will you find stars from open wheel, sports, stock and touring cars competing head-to-head with one another and with top rallycross and drag racers?  And it’s for a great cause.  Justin Wilson was big supporter of iRacing and a regular competitor in the iRacing Pro Race of Champions.  We’re pleased to be able to honor his legacy with a contribution to the Justin Wilson Children’s Fund.”

Former iPROC winners include Hill, Phillip Eng and Kiwis Richie Stanaway and Shane Van Gisbergen.  Tune-in to iRacingLive at 9 pm on December 14 and see who will join them as an iPROC champion.

Share Button

Interested in special offers, free giveaways, and news?

Stay In Touch